Join or Renew Membership

Get Involved

Help our cause


History will repeat. San Jacinto will follow the Alamo and Goliad.


History will repeat. San Jacinto will follow the Alamo and Goliad.

Grassroots America applauds the 19 Texas House heroes who heard the voters of Texas and voted for conservative change. But first, a review of recent history is in order…

Over the last three election cycles, voters have fired from office Big Government Republican legislators most aligned with Texas House Speaker Joe Straus. To recap:

  • Five Straus lieutenants lost in the 2014 primaries, including one committee chair and two committee vice chairs. Linda Harper-Brown (R-Irving), Diane Patrick (R-Arlington), Ralph Sheffield (R-Temple), Lance Gooden (R-Terrell), and Bennett Ratliff (R-Carrollton) were defeated in the primary.
  • Straus lieutenants running for higher office lost in the 2014 primaries. Straus committee chairs Harvey Hilderbran (R-Kerrville) and Dan Branch (R-Dallas) lost bids for Comptroller and Attorney General. Former Straus lawyer Eric Opiela failed to make the runoff for Agricultural Commissioner.
  • Several Straus loyalists and committee chairs retired from the House. Jim Pitts (R-Waxahachie), Tryon Lewis (R-Odessa), John Davis (R-Houston), Rob Orr (R-Burleson), Allan Ritter (R-Nederland), and Bill Callegari (R-Katy) all chose not to seek re-election.
  • Well-funded, vicious Straus-backed challenges to outspoken conservative House incumbents failed. Representatives Jonathan Stickland (R-Hurst), Matt Schaefer (R-Tyler), and Charles Perry (R-Lubbock) all defeated (with wide margins) moderate primary challengers receiving money and support from organizations connected to Straus.

This week, for the first time in 40 years, the people of Texas got an on-the-record public vote for Texas House Speaker. On Tuesday, January 13th – the opening day of the 84th legislative session, 19 brave Texas patriots stood for conservative change. They understood the message Texans sent in the March 2014 Primary and the November 2014 General Election. They understood that by voting an overwhelming margin of victory for Greg Abbott and Dan Patrick (who did not run as centrist moderates, but as conservatives), the people of Texas want conservative reforms to state government. They want Texas to stand strong against an overreaching federal government, and they want a secured border. They want religious liberty and traditional values upheld. They want life defended from conception to natural death.

Understanding the will of the people, these brave men (17) and women (2) challenged the sitting Speaker of the Texas House. They knew fighting the status quo supported by every single Democrat House member, every crony special interest, and every liberal media outlet would be an uphill battle. They also knew standing their ground would put them at odds with the third most powerful politician in Texas government.  They did it anyway because it was the right thing to do.  Courage, when easy and convenient, is no courage at all.

Grassroots America applauds these brave Texas House members. We believe the people of Texas are more aware than ever that the political ruling class in Austin, just like that in Washington, DC, is no friend of liberty. Because the people of Texas love liberty, we are confident that there will be a San Jacinto moment for the political ruling class. It didn’t happen this past Tuesday, but our San Jacinto moment is comingEvery single House member who voted for the status quo will be held responsible for every single conservative bill that dies in committee.

Please take the time, right now, to call the 19 brave men and women listed below who stood up for the future of Texas. Let them know we’ll have their backs. 

Rep. Scott Turner, Dist 33 — 512-463-0484 – the inspiring challenger in the Speaker’s race 

Rep. Rodney Anderson, Dist 105 — 512-463-0641

Rep. Dustin Burrows, Dist 83 — 512-463-0542

Rep. Pat Fallon, Dist 106 — 512-463-0694

Rep. Bryan Hughes, Dist 5 — 512-463-0271

Rep. Mark Keough, Dist 15 — 512-463-0797

Rep. Stephanie Klick, Dist 91 — 512-463-0599

Rep. Matt Krause, Dist 93 — 512-463-0562

Rep. Jeff Leach, Dist 67 — 512-463-0544

Rep. Matt Rinaldi, Dist 115 — 512-463-0468

Rep. Scott Sanford, Dist 70 — 512-463-0356

Rep. Matt Schaefer, Dist 6 — 512-463-0584

Rep. Matt Shaheen, Dist 66 — 512-463-0594

Rep. David Simpson, Dist 7 — 512-463-0750

Rep. Stuart Spitzer, Dist 4 — 512-463-0458

Rep. Jonathan Stickland, Dist 92 — 512-463-0522

Rep. Tony Tinderholt, Dist 94 — 512-463-0624

Rep. Molly White, District 55 — 512-463-0630

Rep. Bill Zedler, Dist 96 — 512-463-0374